Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh), 20 April 2018: The 8th Hockey India Junior Women National Championship 2018 (B Division) kicked-off here today which saw Hockey Andhra Pradesh, Hockey Bihar, Sports Authority of Gujarat – Hockey Academy, Hockey Himachal, Assam Hockey and Hockey Rajasthan register victories to start their respective campaigns on a bright note.

The opening day started with Hockey Andhra Pradesh defeating Goans Hockey 6-0 in Pool A where goals for the former were scored by captain Mary Lotla (18′, 42′), Spandana Bokam (44′, 60′), Vara Lakshmi Uppidi (5′) and Bhavani Madugula (54′). Whereas, in another Pool A encounter, it was Hockey Madhya Bharat who played out a 1-1 draw with Bengaluru Hockey Association. It was Navya DJ (7′) who scored for Bengaluru Hockey Association while Isha Agrawal (60′) scored for Hockey Madhya Bharat.

In Pool B, Hockey Bihar beat Manipur Hockey 8-0. Goals for Hockey Bihar were scored by Kajal Lakra (5′, 19′, 20′, 24′, 38′, 45′), Riya Kumari (33′) and Mahima Kumari (70′). Another Pool B match saw Assam Hockey defeat Hockey Puducherry 20-0 in an emphatic manner. Goals for Assam Hockey were scored by Maxima Xalxo (9′, 27′, 62′, 65′), Sakshi (23′, 53′, 61′, 64′), skipper Priyanshi Singh (1′, 3′, 52′), Milka Surin (20′, 30′, 30′), Elina Tigga (10′, 42′), Khushboo Prajapati (19′, 44′), Munmuni Das (33′) and Jespina Horo (56′).

In Pool C, Sports Authority of Gujarat – Hockey Academy scored a convincing 11-3 victory over Telangana Hockey. Goals for the victors were scored by Shivangi Solanki (1′, 3′, 12′, 31′, 52′), Heena Chauhan (30′, 65′), Parmeshwari Shah (39′, 45′), Sanya Noronha (15′) and Prachi Patel (60′) while Anjali Thallapalli (25′, 49′) and skipper Fatima Kashish (42′) scored for Telangana Hockey.

In the other Pool C match, Hockey Rajasthan defeated Bengal Hockey Association 10-0. Goals for Hockey Rajasthan were scored by skipper Beena Pandey (34′, 38′, 42′, 59′), Reena Saini (22′, 69′), Shamandeep Kour (35′), Reena Balawat (44′), Kiran Meena (63′), and Shivani Sahu (65′).

While Pool D started off with Hockey Himachal securing a 4-2 victory over Hockey Madhya Pradesh where goals for the winning team were scored by Suman (39′), Yashika Negi (49′), Rajni Bala (53′) and Ritu (61′) while Sanju Prajapati (2′) and Khushboo Rajak (23′) scored in Hockey Madhya Pradesh’s loss.

More News

view All
 Hockey India Disciplinary Committee takes stringent decisions during their two-day meeting in New Delhi

Hockey India Disciplinary Committee takes stringent decisions during their two-day meeting in New Delhi

The Hockey India Disciplinary Committee Meeting chaired by Bhola Nath Singh, who is also the Vice President of Hockey India, on Tuesday unanimously decided to suspend players from Punjab Armed Police for a period of 12-18 months while players from Punjab National Bank have been suspended for 6-12 months respectively following the recent violence that broke out during the Final of 56th Nehru Senior Hockey Tournament (Men) between Punjab Armed Police and Punjab National Bank, clearly violating the Hockey India/ Hockey India League Code of Conduct. 

Read More


view All