~ Apart from the back-to-back FIH Hockey Pro League matches, the Indian Team led by Manpreet Singh will also play four practice matches against the Olympic Champions Argentina ~        

New Delhi, 30 March 2021: Hockey India on Tuesday announced the 22-member Indian Men's Hockey Team who will take on Olympic Champions Argentina in the FIH Hockey Pro League matches on 11th and 12 April 2021 in Buenos Aires, Argentina. The Indian Team will also play two practice matches against the home team on 6th and 7th April 2021 ahead of their FIH Hockey Pro League clash followed by two more practice matches on 13th and 14 April 2021 as part of their preparations for the Tokyo Olympic Games this July.   

India's tour of Argentina will see the return of experienced midfielder and Skipper Manpreet Singh who had opted out of the recent Europe tour due to personal reasons while his compatriot and experienced dragflick specialist Rupinder Pal Singh as well as Varun Kumar who had missed out the previous tour owing to rehab will also be back in the mix for India.   

The 22-member squad led by Manpreet Singh and Vice-Captain Harmanpreet Singh includes goalkeepers PR Sreejesh and Krishan Bahadur Pathak. Amit Rohidas, Gurinder Singh, Harmanpreet Singh, Surender Kumar, Birendra Lakra, Hardik Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Raj Kumar Pal, Nilakanta Sharma, Shamsher Singh, Gurjant Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Mandeep Singh and Lalit Kumar Upadhyay remain unchanged from the previous tour. The team also includes Jaskaran Singh, Sumit and Shilanand Lakra who will be playing their first international match in over a year.   

Meanwhile experienced players Akashdeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh and Simranjeet Singh who were part of the Europe Tour have been rested.    

"Once again, we are excited about being able to travel overseas for international competition. We are taking a 22-man squad attempting to provide a good balance between giving experience to those players who need it and opportunities for players to perform on the international stage in the lead-up to the Tokyo Olympics," stated Chief Coach Graham Reid about the team selection.   

Reid further stated, "We will be playing four practice games against Argentina and two all-important FIH Hockey Pro League matches. To play the Olympic Champions is always an honour and a privilege in our sport and especially challenging to play them in their own country. Argentina play a different style of game to the teams we played in Europe, and we will be using this tour as a great opportunity to continue our growth and development before Tokyo. These games will provide opportunities to hone our skills and tactics in a period where all teams have been starved of international competition. Given how challenging it is to move around the world like we once did, we appreciate the efforts of SAI, Hockey India, Argentine Hockey Confederation (CAH) and FIH for making these matches possible."  

The Indian Team will leave for Buenos Aires on 31 March for the 16-day tour from Bengaluru following the mandatory RTPCR tests within 72 hours prior to their departure.  

Indian Team list:                                                                                         
1.    P R Sreejesh                                                                            
2.    Krishan Bahadur Pathak                                              
3.    Amit Rohidas                                                                
4.    Gurinder Singh                                                         
5.    Harmanpreet Singh (Vice Captain)                                             
6.    Surender Kumar                                                                
7.    Rupinderpal Singh                                                   
8.    Varun Kumar                                                               
9.    Birendra Lakra                                                                 
10.  Jaskaran Singh                                       
11.  Hardik Singh                                                                
12.  Manpreet Singh (Captain)
13.  Vivek Sagar Prasad
14.  Raj Kumar Pal
15.  Sumit
16.  Nilakanta Sharma
17.  Shamsher Singh
18.  Gurjant Singh
19.  Dilpreet Singh
20.  Mandeep Singh
21.  Lalit Kumar Upadhyay
22.  Shilanand Lakra 

More News

view All
Vandana Katariya scores a hat-trick as Indian Women's Hockey Team defeat South Africa 4-3 at the Tokyo Olympics

Vandana Katariya scores a hat-trick as Indian Women's Hockey Team defeat South Africa 4-3 at the Tokyo Olympics

The Indian Women's Hockey Team kept their Tokyo Olympics Quarter-Finals hopes alive after defeating South Africa 4-3 at the Oi Hockey Stadium here on Saturday. Vandana Katariya (4', 17', 49') and Neha (32') found the back of the net for India and helped their team clinch 3 crucial points in the competition. India's place in the knock-out stage of the tournament depends on the match between Ireland and Great Britain at 5:15 PM IST today. If Great Britain defeat Ireland or draw the game, India will go through to the Quarter-Finals with a fourth-place finish in Pool A.

Read More
India beat hosts Japan 5-3 to finish second in Pool A

India beat hosts Japan 5-3 to finish second in Pool A

Continuing their winning momentum, the Indian Men's Hockey Team registered their third consecutive win in the round robin league stage here at the Oi Hockey Stadium. The team led by Manpreet Singh beat hosts Japan 5-3 with goals scored by Gurjant Singh (17', 56'), Harmanpreet Singh (13'), Shamsher Singh (34') and Nilakanta Sharma (51'). Kenta Tanaka (19'), Kota Watanabe (33') and Kazuma Murata (59') were the goal scorers for Japan. With this victory, India are placed second in the Pool A table only behind World No.1 Australia. 

Read More