New Delhi 23 June: On this exact day today in June 1894, the International Olympic Committee (IOC) was born turning Pierre de Coubertin’s dream into a reality. Marking this day every year as IOC’s official birthday, sports organizations encourage people to get active and engage in sports and celebrate the spirit of unity through various local events and activities.

Joining in the celebrations, Hockey India member units hosted various activities across the country from quiz series at NGOs to various exhibition matches at over thirty three member units.

Some highlights include the Coonoor based SDT Hockey Academy functioning under Hockey India celebrated International Olympic Day at Arignar Anna Government Higher Secondary School grounds Coonoor wherein more than 150 players took part.  Exhibition matches were held between players from various teams and the youngsters from Coonoor who had represented the Tamilnadu state team in the recent 2 years. The team displayed enormous zeal and enthusiasm taking part in this celebration. Also, on the occasion Mr Balamurugan, Secretary of Hockey Nilgiris enlisted the activities of the Association aimed at producing quality players and young umpires through the help of Hockey Unit of Tamilnadu and Hockey India via periodic workshops, coaching seminars, and visit by experts.

Similarly, Hockey Andhra Pradesh and Rural Development Trust, Anantapuramu jointly commemorated the Olympic Day run by organizing a goodwill Hockey Match between the AP Youth Women Hockey Team and RDT Hockey Academy Team at Anantapur. Various dignitaries attended the event and conveyed best wishes to Indian Hockey Teams taking part in the upcoming Olympic Games at Rio 2016.

Likewise, Hockey Karnataka also hosted Olympic Day Exhibition match for Women between Stars eleven vs Christ College. Hockey Mizoram celebrated the Olympic Day by conducting two matches one for the Men’s and the other Women’s. Assam Hockey organised Olympic Day 2016 at Guwahati by hosting Men’s Friendship Match. The Mumbai Hockey Association celebrated Olympic Day wherein they conducted hockey matches for Men & Women. Hockey Haryana also celebrated Olympic Day by hosting matches (Men & Women) at the Astro-Turf field in Sonepat. Hockey Maharashtra celebrated Olympic Day by hosting matches for Men & Women  at the Khadki Cantonment ground .  The Men’s Team matches were between Bombay Engineering Group, Khadki vs Combinded Khadki  XI won by BEG 2-0 and the Women’s Team matches were between Rovers Academy vs Wadia XI.won by Rovers 1-0. Present on the occasion were Olympians Ajit Lakra and Vikram Pillay who were felicitated by Mrs Pooja Manish Anand, Member Khadki Cantonment Board. Senior Player from yesteryears Mr Felix Bernard was also felicitated on the occasion.

In New Delhi, a special Quiz and exhibition matches marked the celebration of the Olympics at One Thousand Hockey Legs, a project of Delhi based NGO Hockey Citizen Group. Hockey Citizen Group is a Hoc-Key member of Hockey India. Hockey Citizen Group, through its OTHL Project, works at grassroots level to bring more and more children into the realm of hockey as a preferred sport. This was followed by an exhibition match between One Thousand Hockey Legs XI and Govt Boys School, Bangner, Delhi, which ended in 2-2 draw.

Speaking on the occasion, Mohd. Mushtaque Ahmad, Secretary General, Hockey India, said, “Marking this very special year as the Indian Men Hockey Team and Indian Women Hockey Team head for Rio with confidence and zeal to win a medal, we would like to wish them our very best. At the same time it is important to create more awareness on the philosophy of the Olympics. The various events organized under the supervision of Hockey India to celebrate Olympic Day helped hundreds of participants to know, understand and value the Olympics ideology and to highlight Hockey’s role in making India shine at the Olympics.”

List of participating units for the Olympic Day celebrations is as below –

1.    Assam Hockey

2.    Bengal Hockey Association

3.    Chhattisgarh Hockey

4.    Citizen Hockey XI

5.    Delhi Hockey

6.    Goans Hockey

7.    Hockey Bihar

8. Hockey Andhra Pradesh

9. Hockey Bengaluru

10. Hockey Chandigarh

11. Hockey Haryana

12. Hockey Jammu & Kashmir

13. Hockey Jharkhand

14. Hockey Karnataka

15. Kerala Hockey

16. Hockey Madhya Bharat

17. Hockey Maharashtra

18.  Hockey Mizoram

19. Hockey Puducherry

20. Hockey Punjab

21. Hockey Rajasthan

22. Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu

23. Hubli Hockey Academy

24. Mata Sahib Kaur Hockey Academy

25. The Mumbai Hockey Association

26. Mumbai Schools Sports Association

27.  RV Academy

28.  SDT Hockey Nilgiris Academy

29. TamilNadu Hockey Academy

30. Telangana Hockey

31. Tripura Hockey

32. Uttar Pradesh Hockey

33. Vidarbha Hockey Association

More News

view All
Hockey India Office Bearer met with Odisha Chief Minister and Sports Minister today

Hockey India Office Bearer met with Odisha Chief Minister and Sports Minister today

The Odisha government has pledged its continued support for Indian hockey, providing a major boost for the sport. This significant partnership was solidified in a high-level meeting attended by Hockey India President Dr. Dilip Tirkey and Hockey India Secretary General Shri Bhola Nath Singh, with Hon’ble Chief Minister of Odisha Shri Mohan Charan Majhi, Hon’ble Minister of State for Sports & Youth Services Shri Suryabanshi Suraj, Chief Secretary & Chief Development Commissioner Shri Pradeep Kumar Jena, IAS, and Commissioner-Cum-Secretary Shri R. Vineel Krishna, IAS.

Read More
Hockey India announces 27-member core probable group for National Men’s Coaching Camp

Hockey India announces 27-member core probable group for National Men’s Coaching Camp

Hockey India on Thursday announced the 27-member core probable group for the Senior Men’s National Coaching Camp, scheduled to commence on 21st June and last until 8th July at the SAI Centre in Bengaluru. The camp is crucial as the Indian Team will look to polish their preparations ahead of the Paris 2024 Olympics. The Indian Men’s Team is placed in Pool B along with Belgium, Argentina, New Zealand, Australia and Ireland. They will start their Olympic campaign against New Zealand on 27th July.

Read More