-Delhi stood 3rd after defeating  Tamil Nadu 2-0

Bhopal 19 March 2014: Assam clinches away the title of the 4th Hockey India Senior Women National Championship 2014 (Division B) from Himachal Pradesh in a hard fought game with a close 3-2 win, played at the Aish Bagh Stadium in Bhopal today.

Himachal Pradesh gave a challenging start to the game when Ravita Chauhan penetrated the very first goal for the team in the 4th minute of the game itself. Assam took no time in returning the favour and stroked two goals back to back in the 6th and 8th minute with the help of Dolly Yadav and Maully Yadav, respectively and took away lead from Himachal by the end of the first half at 2-1. Assam’s third goal came through Captain Minni in the 44th minute and took the lead further ahead by 3-1. Himachal Pradesh’s Baljinder Rana pierced in another challenging goal in the 59th minute but the team failed to support further goals and hence lost the game to Assam by 3-2 on board.

In another match, Delhi defeated Tamil Nadu 2-0 and secured the 3rd position in championship for themselves. A rather tough fight between the two teams, Delhi’s Priya managed to sneak in a field goal in the 20th minute and gave a much needed 1-0 lead by the end of the first half of the match. Delhi again managed to surpass Tamil Nadu and pierced in another goal in the 47th minute coming through Ruby Khod. A powerful and effective defense by Delhi restricted Tamil Nadu from scoring even a single goal and hence registered a deserving win and locked on to the 3rd spot in the race.

Results of the day

FINAL – Assam 3 Dolly Yadav (6 min), Maully Yadav (8 min) and Minni (44 min) Vs. Himachal Pradesh 2 Ravita Chauhan (4 min) and Baljinder Rana (59 min).

Hard Line – Delhi 2 Priya (20 min) and Ruby Khod (47 min) Vs. Hockey Unit Of Tamil Nadu 0.

More News

view All
PHOTO RELEASE: Hockey India Executive Board honours Shri Bhola Nath Singh, Smt Joydeep Kaur

PHOTO RELEASE: Hockey India Executive Board honours Shri Bhola Nath Singh, Smt Joydeep Kaur

Hockey India Executive Board led by Padma Shri Dr. Dilip Tirkey, Hockey India President on Monday honoured Shri Bhola Nath Singh, Secretary General Hockey India, and Smt Joydeep Kaur, Athlete Representative Hockey India, on their induction into the erstwhile Asian Hockey Federation (AHF) Executive Board as its newly-elected Vice President and Athlete Representative, respectively, during the AHF Congress held in Mungyeong, Korea, held last week.

Read More